African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards available to top African scientists for their scientific achievements and valuable discoveries and findings in two sectors (a) Life and Earth Science; and (b) Basic Science, Technology and Innovation.

Brief Description: The African Union Commission is committed to ensure that science and technology contributes to our sustainable development efforts. The Constitutive Act, establishing the African Union, recognizes the need to advance the development of Africa by promoting research in all fields, and in science and technology in particular. The Commission, through its Department of Human Resources, Science and Technology implements a strategic science and technology development programme, aimed at contributing to the wellbeing and improved quality of life for the African citizens. In January 2007, the AU Heads of State and Government “declared 2007 as the launching year for building constituencies and champions for science, technology and innovation in Africa”. The awards to be covered under this scheme are: (i) AU-TWAS National Young Scientists Award at the National Level; (ii) African Union Regional Women Scientists Award at the AU Regional Level; and (iii) Continental Scientific Award at the continental level.

Award Includes: The value of the AU-TWAS National Young Scientist Award shall be US$ 5,000 (Five thousand US Dollars) jointly conferred by the African Union Commission and TWAS for each scientific sector. The value of the African Union Women Scientists Regional Award shall be US$20,000 (Twenty thousand US Dollars) for each scientific sector, conferred by the African Union Commission. The value of the Continental Scientific Award shall be US$100,000 (One hundred thousand US Dollars) for each scientific sector) conferred by the African Union Commission on the award winners in each sector.

Study Program: Prizes are available to scientists for their scientific achievements and valuable discoveries and findings to excelling African women researchers.

Study Major: Prizes are awarded in each of the following two sectors (a) Life and Earth Science; and (b) Basic Science, Technology and Innovation.

Eligibility Required? The African Union Scientific Awards will be awarded to African scientists who have remarkable achievements, demonstrated by number of publications, number of research graduate students, applicability of the scientific work to Africa’s challenges, and its patentability.
-Only nationals of the African Union (AU) Member States are eligible to participate in these Awards.
-For the African Union Regional Scientific Award for Women, applicants should have intensively published at least ten (10) SCI publications.
-For the Continental applicants should have at least twenty (20) SCI publications.

Number of Awards: There are two awards per country for AU-TWAS National Young Scientists, two awards per region for African Union Regional Award and there are two awards available for Continental Scientific Award.

National/International Students:  Nationals of the African Union (AU) Member States (Central Africa: Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Congo (DRC), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Sao Tome & Principe; Northern Africa: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Tunisia, and The Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic; Eastern Africa: Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda are eligible to apply for these awards.

Governing Body: The Commission of the African Union, Africa

Application Procedure: Applications should be sent (not by fax or e-mail) to the Implementing Authority as indicated. The Application forms are available from:
-AU Commission official website,
-Ministries in Charge of Science and Technology, National Academies and Research Councils in Member States, and
-the Regional Economic Communities Headquarters.

Application Form

Submission Deadline: The application deadlines are 30th October 2015 for Regional Award and 15th November 2015 for Continental award. The deadline for receipt of applications for national level award by the national office in charge shall be determined according to the date on the application form.

For more details visit the official site.