The Federal Science Policy Office (BELSPO) is inviting applications for postdoctoral fellowships from non-EU researchers to work during 6 to 18 months in a Belgian research team. The application deadline is April 30th, 2016.

Brief Description: The Federal Science Policy Office provides information through this website on its organisation, its field of activity and the areas in which it holds authority. Whilst it makes every attempt to keep this information up to date, it offers no guarantee of completeness.

Eligibility: Applicants must meet all of the following criteria to be eligible to apply for this Fellowship:-
-The candidate wills…
-hold a doctor’s degree at the date of entry the Fellowship,
-hold the doctor’s degree for less than 6 years on January 1st, 2016,
-not have been domiciled in Belgium for more than 12 months during the last 36 months preceding January 1st, 2016,
-not have already benefitted from a Postdoc Fellowship to non-EU researchers funded by BELSPO,
-have the nationality of a target country,
-be associated to research in one of the target countries.
-The target countries:
-For this Call, the list of target countries is limited to
– the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa)
– all the African countries
– Vietnam.
-All applications implying a candidate or a home lab from another country will be dismissed.

Award Includes: The fellowship comprises:
-a net monthly allowance of 2,430 EUR;
-a single payment of 1,500 EUR for the travel expenses from and to the country of origin;
the personal liability insurance costs;
the contribution to the National Office of Social Security (NOSS), as foreseen by Royal Decree of 26.03.2003 in relation to foreign workers (M. B. of 28.04.2003).
Remark: The Royal Decree of 07.01.1989 foresees that fellowships to scientists are free of taxation when paid by the Belgian authorities or institutions such as universities.
-The host institution will, to the account of the Federal Science Policy Office, be responsible for the (monthly) payments of the invited scientists as well as for the subscription of the insurances. The Federal Science Policy Office will reimburse the institution every three months, after having received a debit note with proofs of the expenses.

Study Program: Fellowships are available for postdoctoral research programme.

Study Major: Postdoctoral fellowships are offered in Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Information Science and Engineering, Environmental and Geosciences, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Social Sciences and Humanities. Applicants are responsible for the choice of the discipline. The experts in charge of the evaluation of the research project will rise from this choice.

Host Organization: Belgian research team

Number of Awards: Not Known

National/International Students: Applicants from following targeted countries the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa); all the African countries (Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia and Zimbabwe) and Vietnam are eligible to apply for these fellowships.

Governing Body: Federal Science Policy Office (BELSPO)

Application Procedure: Applications should be sent via post and also via e-mail.

Submission Deadline: The application deadline is April 30th, 2016.

For more details visit the official site.