Canon Collins Trust is offering scholarships to study postgraduate program to study at a South African university. The university will provide funding for up to a maximum of two years for Masters and three years for PhD. The application deadline is 15 August 2016.

Brief Description: Canon Collins Trust seeks to support exceptional individuals who are committed to social justice in Southern Africa and for whom a postgraduate qualification is an essential tool in working to create an open and just society.

Eligibility: In addition, to be considered for a scholarship under these programme applicants must:

  • Be a national of, or have refugee status in, one of the following countries: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • Be normally resident in one of the above countries
  • be in possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application
  • Be studying or applying to study at a South African university.

Award Includes: In 2017 most awards will be valued at R65, 000 for each year of study at Masters and Ph.D. level. In exceptional cases, we may offer up to R100, 000 per year. The trust supports both full and part-time study and will consider applications from those who wish to study by distance learning.

Study Program: Scholarships are available for pursuing postgraduate programme.

Study Major: In 2017 the trust will be making awards only to those studying in three areas:

  • Justice, which includes Law, Economics, Politics and the Environment
  • Education policy and practice
  • Humanities, which includes Literature, History, Anthropology and the Arts
  • Please only apply if your program of study falls into one of these disciplines. Interdisciplinary courses and doctoral studies may sometimes defy easy categorization. Applicants are urged to use their judgement in assessing whether to apply. But applications that clearly do not fall within these areas (for example MBAs, medical sciences, sports sciences, applied sciences) will not be considered for an award.

Host Organization: South African University

National/International Students: Scholars from Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe are eligible to apply for these scholarships.

Governing Body: Canon Collins Trust

Application Procedure: The mode of application is online. All sections of the form need to be complete before the system will allow the application form to be submitted. Information can be saved and the application form edited until the applicant chooses to submit. All applicants are required to upload the following supporting documentation:

  • Copy of degree certificates, if available
  • Certified academic transcripts
  • ID document (the following are acceptable: passport, birth certificate, driver’s license)

Applicants may also need to submit:

  • Proof of refugee status, if applicable
  • Two recent pay slips, if currently employed
  • D. proposal if applicable.

Submission Deadline: The application deadline is 15 August 2016.

For more details visit the official site.