The Canon Collins Trust invites applications for Thekgo Bursaries. These are open to African students for pursuing undergraduate and postgraduate programme.

Brief Description: In 2017 these bursaries will only be awarded to students studying at public universities in the Eastern Cape: University of Fort Hare, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Rhodes University and Walter Sisulu University of Technology and Science. Please note that the application form is incorrect and students studying at CPUT are not eligible.

Eligibility: To be considered for a scholarship under this programme you must:

  • Be a national of, or have refugee status in any African country.
  • Be accepted to study at a university in the Eastern Cape, South Africa in 2017, for a full-time programme. Applicants must be in their first year.
  • Be able to demonstrate academic merit
  • Be studying a course within one of the areas listed above
  • Be able to demonstrate financial need

Award Includes: In 2017 the Thekgo group will select up to 4 applicants for awards of up to R7500 per student, towards their first year’s registration fees.

Study Program: Bursaries are available for pursuing undergraduate and postgraduate programme.

Study Major: Bursaries are awarded in the following subjects:

  • Languages and Literature
  • Media Studies
  • Gender Studies
  • Education
  • Arts (Digital Arts, Drama/Performance Studies, Visual Arts/Fine Arts, History of Art, Film and Television Studies, Music)

Host Organization: University in the Eastern Cape, South Africa

Number of Awards: Not Known

National/International Students: Students of any African countries (Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia and  Zimbabwe) are eligible to apply for these Bursaries.

Governing Body: Canon Collins Educational & Legal Assistance Trust

Application Procedure: Please download the application form, save a copy on your computer before filling it in. Read the guidelines carefully before applying. The application form must be submitted by email to by Monday 12 December 2016, along with your supporting documents.

Submission Deadline: Application deadline is December 12, 2016.

For more details visit the official site.