Government of Mauritius is offering up to 50 scholarships for citizens of member states of the African Union. These scholarships are available for full-time on-campus undergraduate studies at any public Tertiary Education Institution in Mauritius for academic year starting in 2016.

Brief Description: The Government of the Republic of Mauritius is offering scholarships for full-time, on-campus undergraduate studies in public Tertiary Education Institutions (TEI’s) in Mauritius to deserving students who are resident citizens of member states of the African Union in 2016

-Candidates must be resident citizens of member states of the African Union. Mauritian nationals and foreign residents in Mauritius are NOT eligible under this Scheme.
-Candidates should not be below 18 years and not more than 25 years of age at the closing date of application.
-Candidates should have successfully completed end of secondary school to be eligible. They should satisfy the minimum grade requirement at end of secondary school level qualification:
(i) of at least three (3) Grade B’s at Principal Level in the GCE A-Level; or
(ii) of at least 70% average subject-wise, or an overall average of at least 14/20; or
(iii) criteria equivalent to (i) or (ii) above.
-In case the language of instruction is not English in the qualifying examination, the candidate may have to provide a valid TOEFL or IELTS minimum score of 550 or 5.5 respectively, or an appropriate proof of English Language competency.
-Candidates who are already holders of an undergraduate degree will NOT be eligible under this Scheme.
-Self-financing candidates already studying in Mauritius in an undergraduate programme before July 2016 will not be eligible for such a Scholarship.

Award Includes: A provision of up to MUR (Mauritian Rupee) 100,000 will be allocated yearly directly to the TEI for this scholarship to meet tuition fees and related course costs (e.g. general/annual fees, miscellaneous institution fees, student’s welfare fund) and a monthly assistance of MUR 8,300 will be paid to awardees as support to meet living expenses.

Study Program: Scholarships are available for pursuing full time undergraduate studies.

Study Major: Scholarships are awarded in all subjects.

Host Organization: Public Tertiary Education Institution in Mauritius (University of Mauritius, University of Technology , University of the Mascarene Islands, , Fashion and Design Institute, Mauritius Institute of Education , Mahatma Gandhi Institute and Rabindranath Tagore Institute)

Number of Awards: Up to 50 scholarships are available.

National/International Students: Citizens of member states of the African Union (People`s Democratic Republic of Algeria, Republic of Angola, Republic of Benin, Republic of Botswana, Burkina Faso, Republic of Burundi, Republic of Cabo Verde, Republic of Cameroon, Central African Republic, The Republic of Chad, Union of the Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Republic of Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of Djibouti, Arab Republic of Egypt, Republic of Equatorial Guinea, State of Eritrea, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, Gabonese Republic, Republic of the Gambia, Republic of Ghana, Republic of Guinea, Republic of Guinea-Bissau, Republic of Kenya, Kingdom of Lesotho, Republic of Liberia, Libya, Republic of Madagascar, Republic of Malawi, Republic of Mali, Republic of Mauritania,, Republic of Mozambique, Republic of Namibia, Republic of Niger, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Republic of Rwanda, Republic Arab Saharawi Democratic, Democratic Republic of sao Tome and Principe, Republic of Senegal, Republic of Seychelles, Republic of Sierra Leone, Somali Republic, Republic of South Africa, Republic of South Sudan, Republic of The Sudan, Kingdom of Swaziland, Tanzania, Togolese Republic, Tunisian Republic, Republic of Uganda, Republic of Zambia and Republic of Zimbabwe) expect Mauritius can apply.

Governing Body: Government of Mauritius

Application Procedure: An application under this scheme is to be made through the sole Nominating Agency responsible for the processing of scholarships in the country of citizenship of the applicant. Such a Nominating Agency, which is typically part of the Ministry of Education in the country of citizenship of the applicant, will then shortlist and endorse the applications of selected candidates for the Scholarships and submit the duly completed and vetted application and nomination forms by 29 April 2016 to the Ministry of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research of Mauritius, which will be responsible for final selection. Applicants are advised to consult their Ministries of Education in their country for the contact details of their Nominating Agencies in their country.

Submission Deadline: The application deadline is 29 April, 2016.

For more details visit the official site.